× ×
× ×

All-Time Quarterback

¡All-Time Quarterback!
bark26: All-Time Quarterback / All-Time Quarterback
bark26   CD / DIGITAL Barsuk Records   June 2002
    • Plans Get Complex
  1. Dinner At Eight In The Suburbs
  2. Cleveland
  3. Empire State
  4. Rules Broken
  5. Untitled
  6. Factory Direct
  7. Why I Cry
  8. Underwater
    • Sock Hop
  9. Send Packing

In the Spring of 1999, Death Cab for Cutie songwriter/frontman Ben Gibbard had some time on his hands and a batch of songs running around in his head that didn't seem quite right for his band. He also had a few broken keyboards scattered about, a guitar that wouldn't stay in tune, and an old four-track home-recording machine. What resulted were two charming lo-fi releases (a five-song self-titled cd and the Envelope Sessions cassette tape) on the excellent Bellingham WA scene-documenting Elsinor label under the one-off moniker All-Time Quarterback.

Ten songs from those recordings are collected here along with a previously unreleased outtake and a hilarious, strangely heartwarming video. Standouts include "Why I Cry" (a lovely Magnetic Fields cover), "Underwater" (later re-recorded by DCFC for a 2000 Sub Pop singles club 7"), and the pop gems "Plans Get Complex", "Sock Hop", and "Empire State".

All-Time Quarterback affords listeners a candid insight into one of indie rock's highest-profile talents.
Splendid E-zine


Due to reports of ongoing postal slowness in some areas and the usual seasonal delays, we cannot guarantee shipments will be delivered by December 24 for US orders placed after December 4, or for any international orders placed after November 20. Our warehouse will be closed from December 16 through January 3. We appreciate your patience.

CD US$12
FLAC (download)  US$12
MP3 (download)  US$10

By clicking “OK” (or any link) you agree to our use of cookies (including partner cookies) and other technologies to personalize your experience on our website. Privacy Policy.