× ×
× ×

Travis Morrison

bark38: Travis Morrison / Travistan
bark38   CD / DIGITAL Barsuk Records   September 2004
  1. Get Me Off This Coin A
  2. Change
    • Born In '72
  3. My Two Front Teet, Parts 2 And 3
  4. Get Me Off This Coin B
    • People Die
  5. Song For The Orca
  6. Any Open Door
  7. Get Me Off This Coin C
  8. Che Guevara Poster
  9. The Word Cop
  10. Angry Angel
  11. Get Me Off This Coin D
  12. Represent

From the lead singer and lyricist of the D.C. art-rock quartet The Dismemberment Plan comes this incredible, political, dark and booty-shaking solo record. It's a singular piece of work, matching Plan-ish elements like videogame noises and synth beds with intricate funk and hip-hop-inspired cut-and-paste structures, all rubbing against an open and warm acoustic soundscape that swings from Steely Dan-ish smoothness to full orchestral string arrangements to piano-driven post-punk rave-ups. Travis' lyrics have reached a whole new level, setting the last three years of American political upheaval in his sights, but instead of overt lyrical finger-pointing, he digs deeper to contemplate the personal and metaphorical melancholy and uncertainty that pulse under so much of the country's current anger and distrust. The record was recorded in Seattle and D.C. by Chris Walla (Death Cab for Cutie, Decemberists, Velvet Teen) and Don Zientara (Fugazi, Bad Brains), and will be sure to please expectant Plan fans and new listeners alike.

Rocks like Prince, Ludacris, [and] Elliott Smith.... this album hits everything from introspective indie rock to electroclash; we'd expect nothing less.
Alternative Press


Orders may take 3-7 days to be processed and shipped.
Pre-orders (along with other physical items purchased with them) will be held and shipped close to the stated release date. We appreciate your patience.

CD US$10
FLAC (download)  US$12
MP3 (download)  US$10


bark67: Travis Morrison / All Y'all
  • +

By clicking “OK” (or any link) you agree to our use of cookies (including partner cookies) and other technologies to personalize your experience on our website. Privacy Policy.