× ×
× ×

The Wooden Birds

Two Matchsticks
bark111: The Wooden Birds / Two Matchsticks
bark111   LP / CD / DIGITAL Barsuk Records   June 2011
  1. Folly Cub
    • Two Matchsticks
  2. Cross My Heart
  3. Criminals Win
  4. Company Time
  5. Warm To The Blade
  6. Baby Jeans
  7. Too Pretty To Say Please
  8. Struck By Lightning
  9. Secrets
  10. Be No Lie
  11. Long Time To Lose It

While Two Matchsticks keeps the percussive affects of The Wooden Birds' debut, the band drew on the strengths of their live show in writing the album, making it a stronger record sonically, more driven, upbeat and fuller than the Birds' previous efforts. The most noticeable difference is the increased presence of members Leslie Sisson and Matt Pond who, in addition to singing backing vocals on the album, sing lead and duet with songwriter Andrew Kenny on some of the album's most memorable songs. There is also a heat and a passion behind Kenny's voice and throughout the album's lyrics, and the return of the vibraphone's warm tones will also be a welcome sound to fans of Kenny's previous band, The American Analog Set.

Instantly pleasing.




Orders may take 3-7 days to be processed and shipped.
Pre-orders (along with other physical items purchased with them) will be held and shipped close to the stated release date. We appreciate your patience.

CD US$12
FLAC (download)  US$12
MP3 (download)  US$10


bark85: The Wooden Birds / Magnolia
  • +

By clicking “OK” (or any link) you agree to our use of cookies (including partner cookies) and other technologies to personalize your experience on our website. Privacy Policy.