× ×
× ×

This Busy Monster

bark13: This Busy Monster / Fireworks
bark13   CD / DIGITAL Barsuk Records   March 2001
    • What She Said
  1. Loup-Garou
  2. Smell Of Blood
    • Swoon
  3. Issue
  4. Unentitled
  5. The Thing
  6. White Rabbit
  7. Time To Sleep
    • Gold Stop Watch
  8. The Curious Sofa
  9. Unsong

"Fireworks is an intriguing album; I keep coming back to it. The talent is undeniable, and the songwriting is unique. The band is hard to pigeonhole and that's admirable in today's cluttered and derivative underground scene. Despite a few obvious influences, This Busy Monster retains its individuality on its second album. The experimentation backfires occasionally, but what band doesn't trip when it travels down an obscure path? If at least a handful of these songs don't excite you, I don't know what will." (DrawerB)

It's not easily accessible. It's not instantly catchy. It takes time to fully grow on you and develop its master plan. But, once it does, you're hooked. The wild antics, the jarring beats, the off-kilter free form that flows through the songs, and the potent, angst-y lyrics all manage to deliver an album chalk full of amusement and circus fare. This is the type of guitar-driven indie rock album that people cling to as their gospel, once they've dissed it, dismissed it, and then, finally, caught on to it.
In Music We Trust


Orders may take 3-7 days to be processed and shipped.
Pre-orders (along with other physical items purchased with them) will be held and shipped close to the stated release date. We appreciate your patience.

CD US$12
FLAC (download)  US$12
MP3 (download)  US$10


bark10: This Busy Monster / The Curious Sofa
  • +
krang4: This Busy Monster / Like Icicles
  • +

By clicking “OK” (or any link) you agree to our use of cookies (including partner cookies) and other technologies to personalize your experience on our website. Privacy Policy.