× ×
× ×

The Long Winters

The Worst You Can Do Is Harm
bark22: The Long Winters / The Worst You Can Do Is Harm
bark22   LP / CD / DIGITAL Barsuk Records   January 2002
  1. Give Me A Moment
    • Carparts
  2. Samaritan
  3. Mimi
  4. Medicine Cabinet Pirate
    • Unsalted Butter
  5. Government Loans
  6. Scent Of Lime
  7. Copernicus
  8. Untitled

We have a limited number of the black vinyl versions available — or ask about it at your local indie record store!

The digital-only expanded edition is out now!

  1. Give Me A Moment (Demo)
  2. Scent Of Lime (Demo)
  3. Samaritan (feat. Sean Nelson) [Duo Version]
  4. Mini (feat. Sean Nelson) [Duo Version]
  5. The Only Living Boy In New York (feat. Sean Nelson) [Duo Version]

Simply stated, The Worst You Can Do Is Harm is one of the finest debut records in recent memory. From the subterranean menace of "Give Me a Moment" to the Gothic country of "Samaritan" to the kitchen table post-mortem "Unsalted Butter", the collaboration delineated by John Roderick's lyrical/melodic sense, Sean Nelson's lush harmonies and Chris Walla's totally messed-up production hits its mark almost too many times to be believed.

Guest players include Ken Stringfellow (The Posies, REM), Joe Bass (Sky Cries Mary, Sunny Day Real Estate), Jim Roth (Delusions, Built to Spill) and other friends.



Orders may take 3-7 days to be processed and shipped.
Pre-orders (along with other physical items purchased with them) will be held and shipped close to the stated release date. We appreciate your patience.

CD US$12
FLAC download (orig album) US$12
MP3 download (orig album) US$10


bark54: The Long Winters / Putting The Days To Bed
  • +
bark48: The Long Winters / Ultimatum
  • +
bark31: The Long Winters / When I Pretend To Fall
  • +

By clicking “OK” (or any link) you agree to our use of cookies (including partner cookies) and other technologies to personalize your experience on our website. Privacy Policy.