× ×
× ×

Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter

Reckless Burning
bark30: Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter / Reckless Burning
bark30   CD / DIGITAL Barsuk Records   January 2003
  1. Reckless Burning
  2. Doralee
    • Lonely Still
  3. Your Side Now
    • Don't Let Me Go
  4. Drinking With Strangers
  5. Made Of Wood
  6. Love Me, Someday
  7. Lullaby

Jesse Sykes is an extraordinary singer and amazing songwriter whose dark songs of dislocation and reconciliation fall somewhere between the warm country-noir of Giant Sand, Poor Down Like Silver-era Richard/Linda Thompson, and the glacial indie-rock of Low. Reckless Burning is the first recorded result of her collaboration with Whiskeytown founding guitarist/songwriter Phil Wandscher, whose playing and songwriting underline how essential he was to that great original Whiskeytown lineup. The rest of The Sweet Hereafter — seasoned Joel Phelps/Neko Case sideman Bill Herzog on stand-up bass, Walkabouts violinist Anne-Marie Ruljancich, and stylish brush-and-mallet drummer Kevin Warner — is sublime.

Jesse Sykes has the perfect voice. It expresses longing, heartbreak, and existential loneliness with powerful understatement.


Orders may take 3-7 days to be processed and shipped.
Pre-orders (along with other physical items purchased with them) will be held and shipped close to the stated release date. We appreciate your patience.

CD US$12
FLAC (download)  US$12
MP3 (download)  US$10


bark36: Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter / Oh, My Girl
  • +

By clicking “OK” (or any link) you agree to our use of cookies (including partner cookies) and other technologies to personalize your experience on our website. Privacy Policy.