× ×
× ×

Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter

Oh, My Girl
bark36: Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter / Oh, My Girl
bark36   CD / DIGITAL Barsuk Records   June 2004
  1. Oh, My Girl
  2. You Are Not Gotten Here
  3. Troubled Soul
    • The Dreaming Dead
  4. Your Eyes Told
  5. Tell The Boys
  6. Birds Over Water
  7. Winter Hunter
  8. House By The Lake
  9. Grow A New Heart

Jesse Sykes' stark songs roil with themes of loss, resignation, and love laid bare, placing them sonically and lyrically somewhere between Pour Down Like Silver-era Richard & Linda Thompson or vintage Neil Young, the warm country-gothic-noir of Nick Cave, and the elegant indie-rock of Cat Power. Oh, My Girl is the second full-length resulting from Sykes' partnership with guitarist/songwriter Phil Wandscher, whose previous musical project was Whiskeytown, the revered North Carolina post-punk altcountry band that he co-founded with Ryan Adams. The rest of The Sweet Hereafter — a band that includes seasoned ex-members of Neko Case's band, Joel Phelps' Downer Trio, and The Walkabouts — is sublime.

This is a beautiful, heartbreaking album.
Paste Magazine


Orders may take 3-7 days to be processed and shipped.
Pre-orders (along with other physical items purchased with them) will be held and shipped close to the stated release date. We appreciate your patience.

CD US$12
FLAC (download)  US$12
MP3 (download)  US$10


bark30: Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter / Reckless Burning
  • +

By clicking “OK” (or any link) you agree to our use of cookies (including partner cookies) and other technologies to personalize your experience on our website. Privacy Policy.